# Australian Salaried Medical Officers Federation ELECTION NOTICE - E2023/203 - Stage 1

#### **Scheduled Election**

Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act 2009

Nominations are called for:

## **New South Wales Branch**

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice-President (1)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary/Treasurer (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following Practitioner Types (Numbers have been determined in accordance with sub-rule 57(2))
  - Staff Specialist (11)
  - o Clinical Academic (2)
  - Specialist Medical Administrator (2)
  - Career Medical Officer (2)
  - Medical Officer (Doctor in Training) (8)
  - Visiting Medical Officer (2)
  - GP Registrars (2)
  - o Miscellaneous (2)

## **Queensland Branch**

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice-President (1)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary/Treasurer (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following Practitioner Types (Numbers have been determined in accordance with sub-rule 57(3))
  - Staff Specialist (7)
  - Medical Officer (Doctor in Training) (5)
  - Visiting Medical Officers (1)
  - GP Registrars (1)
  - Miscellaneous (1)

## Victoria Branch

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice-President (1)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary/Treasurer (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following Practitioner Types (Numbers have been determined in accordance with sub-rule 57(4))
  - Staff Specialist (12)
  - Medical Officer (Doctor in Training) (12)
  - Miscellaneous (1)

## South Australia Branch

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice-President (1)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary/Treasurer (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following Practitioner Types (Numbers has been determined in accordance with sub-rule 57(5))
  - Staff Specialist (5)
  - Clinical Academic (1)
  - Career Medical Officer (1)
  - Medical Officer (Doctor in Training) (3)
  - Visiting Medical Officer (1)
  - o GP Registrars (1)
  - o Miscellaneous (1)

## Tasmania Branch

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice-President (1)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary/Treasurer (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following Practitioner Types (Numbers have been determined in accordance with sub-rule 57(6))
  - Staff Specialist (1)
  - Medical Officer (Doctor in Training) (1)
  - Miscellaneous (1)

## **Northern Territory Branch**

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice-President (1)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary/Treasurer (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following Practitioner Types (Numbers have been determined in accordance with sub-rule 57(7))
  - Staff Specialist (1)
  - Medical Officer (Doctor in Training) (1)
  - GP Registrars (1)
  - Miscellaneous (1)

## Australian Capital Territory Branch

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice-President (1)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary/Treasurer (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following Practitioner Types (Numbers have been determined in accordance with sub-rule (57(8))
  - Staff Specialist (3)
  - Medical Officer (Doctor in Training) (1)
  - GP Registrars (1)
  - Miscellaneous (1)

## Western Australia Branch

- Branch President (1)
- Branch Vice-President (1)
- Branch Secretary (1)
- Branch Assistant Secretary/Treasurer (1)
- Branch Councillors from the following Practitioner Types (Numbers have been determined in accordance with sub-rule (57(9))
  - Staff Specialist (4)
  - Medical Officer (Doctor in Training) (5)
  - Miscellaneous (1)

Close of Roll - 5:00pm on 31 January 2024.

**Nominations**, which must be in writing and comply with the registered rules of the Organisation, may be made at any time from 01/03/2024.

Additional forms are available from the Returning Officer.

Prospective candidates and nominators should verify their financial status and any other qualifications required by the Organisation's rules prior to lodging nominations.

Nominations must reach the Returning Officer via the lodgement method(s) stipulated below **not later than** 5:00pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) **on** 22/03/2024.

How to lodge nominations, nominations must be lodged via the following method:
By Email: A properly completed nomination form including all necessary signatures and attachments may be scanned and submitted as a pdf file to <u>IEBnominations@aec.gov.au</u>
The subject line for the email should read: "*E2023/203 – ASMOF Nomination - [Your name]*".

- PLEASE NOTE:
  - 1. Emails to the AEC inbox that appear to be spam may be blocked. It is the responsibility of senders to ensure that their email reaches the AEC before the deadline for nominations.
  - 2. In order to be able to be received by the AEC, emails (including attachments) should be no greater than 6 MB in size.
  - 3. You may call 03 9285 7111 to enquire about the status of your nomination.

## Withdrawing Nominations

Nominations may be withdrawn up until the close of nominations at 5:00pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 22/03/2024.

## **Candidate Statements**

Candidates may submit a statement to be included with ballot material. As per rule 76(10)(c)(ii) 'a candidate statement <u>must not exceed 200 words</u> and will include a biography and/or statement in support of their candidature, together with a photograph of the candidate if desired.'

Only statements which comply with the Rules and are received by the Returning Officer by 5.00pm (Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT)) on 22/03/2024 can be accepted.

## **Voting Period**

The ballot, if required, will open on 12/04/2024 and close at 5:00pm Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) on 10/05/2024.

## Scrutineers

The appointment of scrutineers opens 01/03/2024.

A form is available from the Returning Officer for the purposes of appointing Scrutineers.

#### **Other Information**

Changed Address? Advise the Organisation now.

Please Note: A copy of the AEC's election report can be obtained from the Organisation or from the Returning Officer after the completion of the election.

Darren Wade Returning Officer Telephone: 03 9285 7111 Email: IEBevents@aec.gov.au

20/02/2024

