DIT Committee

The DiT committee is a group of AMA (WA) members from Intern level through to Senior Registrar level who meet on a monthly basis. The AMA (WA) DiT Committee Co-Chairs are co-opted members of the AMA (WA) Council, which is the governing body of the AMA (WA).


Through the AMA (WA) Doctors in Training Committee, issues that influence the lives and careers of junior doctors are constantly examined and responded to, and the AMA (WA) campaigns to ensure that standards across all aspects of a junior doctor’s working life are maintained and improved.


The Committee also provides input into Federal DIT issues through its participation in the federal AMA’s Council of Doctors in Training (AMACDT). The DiT Committee represents you, to State and Federal Government, Medical Colleges, health workforce committees and many other bodies. Current issues under discussion include:


  • Access to Leave Entitlements
  • Member Engagement
  • Centralised RMO Recruitment
  • Part Time/Flexible Working Arrangements
  • Research Opportunities 



If you would like to contact any member of the DIT committee please email Sandra Thorp, or phone the AMA on 08 9273 3000 and you will be put into contact with the relevant committee member.


Committee Meetings


The DIT Committee Meetings are open to any DIT who is a member of the Association. Unless otherwise arranged, these meetings will take place at the AMA (WA) Council Rooms and commence at 6.00pm and conclude at 8.00pm if not before.


Committee Members


Internal Committees

Co-Chairs:       Dr Rebecca Wood/Dr Jason Laurens
AMA CDT Rep:       Dr Rebecca Wood/Dr Jason Laurens
AMA (WA) Council Rep:       Dr Rebecca Wood/Dr Jason Laurens
AMA (WA) COGP:        
AMA (WA) PHDPG:       Dr Rebecca Wood

External Committees

PMCWA Executive:       Dr Marianna Dorkham
PMCWA Accreditation:       Dr Marianna Dorkham
PMCWA Education:       Dr Rebecca Wood/Dr Jason Laurens
PMCWA JMO Forum:       Dr Thisuri Jayawardena/Dr James Caudle
WAMSS:       Mr Harry D’Souza
MSAND:       Mr Sam Cherian

Hospital Representatives

RPH Representative:       Dr Damian Wong/Dr Megge Beacroft
SCGH Representative:       Dr Rhiannon Hicks/Dr Timothy Peet
Fiona Stanley Hospital Representative:       Dr Willian Crohan
PMH Representative:       Dr Catherine Honey
KEMH Representative:       Dr Meredith Cully
Joondalup Representative:       Dr Rebecca Tynas
AMA (WA) Secretariat:       Sandra Thorp
Have Your Say

Do you support current e-cigarette restrictions in Western Australia?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Why I Joined the AMA (WA)...
"It is my hope that we can tackle the challenges our profession faces, united as one. If we dislike our working hours, our pay, gender inequality or low training opportunities, we can change these together. As a nurse in my previous life, I know that when a profession stands as one, people listen."
Dr Rebecca Cogan
Dr Rebecca Cogan
Perkins researcher develops tool to target the right vein, the first time

Tuesday, 7th January 2020

A medical device start-up established at the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research, is aiming to help patients undergoing one of the most common medical procedures.   Along with Emergency Consultant Dr Katherine Arenson and Telethon Kids Researcher Nick Buckley, …