AMA (WA) 2019 Council Elections

AMA (WA) 2019 Council Elections

Monday 29 April 2019


Following recent amendments to the AMA (WA) Constitution, the AMA (WA) Council has a revised focus. Over the past 12 months, AMA (WA) Councillors have been at the forefront of health system and clinical policy development, covering a wide range of issues including industrial advocacy, end-of-life care, vaccinations, General Practice (particularly the undermining of the GP Obstetrics collaborative model by various Health Services), Procedural General Practice and professional practice issues, and health system management.


As a Councillor, you will be responsible for representing the views of your specialty group/practice group and the medical profession as a whole, to the wider Council. Councillors play an influential role in the debate and decision making that will ultimately lead to policy development and sustained political engagement and advocacy – particularly so in this increasingly highly charged and disruptive healthcare system.


AMA (WA) Councillors are elected for a term of one year and meet on the first Wednesday evening of each month, commencing on 3 July 2019. Councillors are expected to attend council meetings, AMA (WA) functions and may be asked to serve on various sub-committees. The AMA (WA) Board is elected by councillors, and councillors may have the opportunity to serve on the Board.


Nominations and any subsequent election will be held in accordance with the new AMA (WA) Constitution. Specifically, you must be a member of the AMA (WA) to be nominated for a Council position and you must have been a Councillor for the previous year in order to nominate for the President’s position.


Nominations for the 2019-20 Council term are now open and we will be seeking representation for the following positions:


₀ President
₀ Immediate Past President (no nomination required)
₀ Vice Presidents (two positions)
₀ Three Ordinary AMA Members
₀ Thirteen Specialty Representatives who will be elected by their peers:

• Anaesthetists • General Practitioners • Obstetricians and Gynaecologists • Pathologists
• Psychiatrists • Physicians • Radiologists • Surgeons • Ophthalmologists
• Dermatologists • Emergency Physicians • Orthopaedic Surgeons • Paediatricians


Chairs from the following practice groups will be elected by their peers:

• Rural Doctors

• Private Specialist Practice


Ready to get involved? Download the nomination form online here


Have Your Say

Do you support current e-cigarette restrictions in Western Australia?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Why I Joined the AMA (WA)...
"It is my hope that we can tackle the challenges our profession faces, united as one. If we dislike our working hours, our pay, gender inequality or low training opportunities, we can change these together. As a nurse in my previous life, I know that when a profession stands as one, people listen."
Dr Rebecca Cogan
Dr Rebecca Cogan
We need to get the services right – and to the right people
Ken Wyatt AM MP
Tuesday, 12th November 2019

When I addressed the National Press Club in July this year, I spoke about wanting to improve mental health outcomes for young people and the implementation of a targeted plan towards zero youth suicide in remote communities.   We are …